Springtime: Love Poems in the Air

Love FlareTwo Sweet Creams Please

 

I watch you standing there
at the ice cream counter, ordering two sweet creams–
in sugar cones please–laughing and joking with
the gangly young ice cream scooper,

and suddenly I see you for real:

an eager little boy, standing on tip-toes,
fingers hooked fiercely onto the counter’s cool edge,
barely able to peer over,
eyes bright, unable to contain your joy, exuberance

exploding everywhere, shouting

yes please! to sprinkles, yes!
more sprinkles please!
A happy little sponge
extracting everything you possibly can
from this moment, wondering how will you ever
fit all this good stuff in?

I see you.

I see you standing there,
ordering us two sweet creams–in sugar cones please–
soaking it all up, still looking around for what more fun
you might wheedle
out of this moment,

when suddenly, your eye catches mine
and your joy pulls me fast and hard to your chest where
we collide, sparking a dazzling flare seen for miles around

though you are still paying, and I
haven’t moved an inch.

~ by madlyinlovewithlife

 

Spring is a time to celebrate life and love

I met my partner, my one true love, many moons ago. I was crazy about him then, and all these years later, I’m more in love than ever.

 

 

Two Sweet Creams Please, by madlyinlovewithlife
From my collection of poems entitled Blowing Rings Around the Moon
© 2010 madlyinlovewithlife

Image Credit:
Love Flare, digital art by madlyinlovewithlife; © 2012 madlyinlovewithlife

6 thoughts on “Springtime: Love Poems in the Air

  1. Thank you for this wonderful story and beautiful painting <3 Even better to know you and your partner continue to have a loving relationship. May you be happy always :-D
    – Takami

  2. I love a story with a happy ending, even when it’s a poem. Your partner is a lucky man and from the sounds of it, so are you–although not a man. I enjoyed the read, Jeannie.

  3. My heart melts as I read this. I knew as soon as I read “2 sweet creams”, who it was about, and who wrote it. And I am so thankful for the love the flows between you two!
    XX

Leave a comment: