The Joy of Summer Wildflowers

DSC_2747-Edit-2

“The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.”

~ e.e. cummings

A Delicious Thing

For me, perhaps the greatest joy of summer is to amble about a wildflower meadow or mosey down a narrow, winding path in the woods, looking for beauty in all of its diverse forms. Few things make me happier than getting lost in photographing summer wildflowers. It’s a delicious thing to lose myself in light, colour, shape, and bokeh. Time disappears. Oftentimes, I come away with a photograph I know I will like. But even if I don’t capture a single successful image, simply trying to always leaves me feeling high—because focusing on beauty, for any reason, is always a good thing.

Here are some shots of this year’s summer wildflowers:

DSC_2075

Morning light shines through bright yellow Bird’s-foot Trefoil. These happy wildflowers grow near the Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area, just outside of Calgary.

 

DSC_3021-2

This is the first time I’ve ever spotted these pretty wildflowers, called Pearly Everlasting (Fish Creek Provincial Park).

The temple bell stops.
But the sound keeps coming
out of the flowers.

~ Matsuo Basho

DSC_2810-Edit-Edit

To me, there is nothing at all common about the Common Paintbrush (Lusk Creek, Kananaskis).

 

DSC_2742-Edit2-EditI think the beautiful, unfurling seedheads of the Yellow Mountain Avens look like ladies with windswept hair-dos. They are light-catchers and they are fun to photograph (Lusk Creek, Kananaskis).

 

DSC_0999-3

Meadow Anemone, with a small friend (Fish Creek Provincial Park, Calgary).

 

DSC_2945-Edit-Edit

I have a soft spot for thistles (Bull Thistles, Carburn Park, Calgary).

 

11223344

A pretty wildflower meadow peppered with Yellow Paintbrush and Red Clover (Ann & Sandy Cross Conservation Area.)

 

DSC_8861

Me, in heaven. (Photo by my partner.)

 

Image Credits:

All photos © 2016 madlyinlovewithlife

 

19 thoughts on “The Joy of Summer Wildflowers

  1. I enjoyed your timeless collection of wildflowers, Jeannie. One of the beautiful things about wildflowers is finding so much of life around them, like the bug (aka “friend”, I like that) and sunshine and wind. There’s so much life in a wildflower. The pearly everlasting is one of my favorites for the rich maple syrup smell it offers. Lovely post.

    • Hello Jet! I am totally with you about the biodiversity of life around wildflowers. I think that wildflowers are a sign of a thriving environment. I love insects and I’m always delighted to see one on a little flower. Thank you so much for stopping by. Enjoy the week ahead! :))

  2. Hello dear Jeannie, so happy to see you’re both enjoying summer. Simply love all of them and I agree about the “high” we can get simply being so close to glorious nature. As you say sometimes it’s not about getting the perfect shot, but the ones you shared look perfect to me :))) All our best to both of you!

    • Hello Takami! Thank you so much for your kind words. We really are having a lovely summer and enjoying getting out to the parks whenever we can. We seem to always see something new and beautiful with every walk. Hope you are enjoying your summer too. :))

  3. Yes, summer we offer delicious things, you made beautiful photos
    for us the offer, I love them. Jeannie thank you very much.
    I wish you beautiful nature walks.
    Hervé

    • Bonjour Hervé! Thank you so much for your kind words. Walking in nature truly is one of our great joys and I know it is also a great joy of yours. Wishing you many beautiful nature walks as well! Have a wonderful week. :)):))

  4. A total joy as ever Jeannie, you transport us with your words and pictures to a better place.

    Thank you x

  5. Ah! I’m catching up on comments today, Jeannie. I think wildflowers are so evocative…almost everyone has childhood memories of them. Thanks for your beautiful pics!

Leave a comment: